Russian Highlights

Loading Map....

Sat 12th May 2018, 7:30pm

St Saviour’s Church
Sandpit Lane
St Albans

Conductor: Tom Hammond
Soloist: Alissa Firsova (piano)

Shostakovich: Festive Overture
Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.1
Stravinsky: Firebird (1945 version)

Shostakovich’s fizzing Festive Overture was written in 3 days but became an instant hit in and outside Russia.

The brilliant St Albans-based pianist, composer and conductor, Alissa Firsova, is the soloist in Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No.1 – one of his best-known works.

Stravinsky based his ballet The Firebird on a Russian folk tale about an evil demon who has 13 princesses under his spell. It is the work that elevated him to international fame.